What's new

New member, just got a projector.. I know nothing about this stuff! (1 Viewer)

Tahoebrian5

Auditioning
Real Name
Brian
Hello HTF, new member here. Just wanted to say hello before I ask a bunch of silly questions.

I live in Reno, NV, am a structural engineer by trade, like to build electronic stuff as a hobby, guitar amps, recording pres, etc.

I just bought the family a Optoma HD29Darbee projector, building a DIY screen out of PVC that I will prop up in front of the TV for movie nights, and also setup in the back yard for summer movies.

I just realized I have no idea what I’m doing as far as getting this stuff hooked up optimally and I need to get some surround sound in my life!

That’s it for now, please point me to some newbie threads if you have a minute.

Thx all, TB5

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Brian:

Welcome to the HTF! :welcome:

For best results, you're gonna wanna take that little bit of information and expand upon it (with those silly questions) in some of our other sub-forums!

Some of the key information to get started is a description of your space...and (I'm afraid) most importantly, your budget.

We just love to spend other people's money here! :D Just kidding. But we CAN help you figure out what would best suit your needs (or desires) and help you get the most bang for your buck.

Home theaters come in all shapes and sizes. No two are alike. And that is because of those three variables: the physical space, the budget, and what's most important to the owner (and sometimes their significant other!). :laugh:

My point is to start your own newbie threads and I think you'll find that we have lots of people here who are willing to help you out. (And post a link to your other thread(s) here in this introductory thread.

All the best!

Tahoebrian5

Auditioning
Real Name
Brian
Thanks for the welcome!