What's new

New member has stupid questions (1 Viewer)

Andy Stocker

Stunt Coordinator
Hi everybody, this is my first post on the Home Theater Forum! After seeing what some of you all have as your home theater I don't know if I qualify anymore!! Anyway, on with the stupid questions. I have a 32 inch Toshiba with componet input and 3-line dig.comb filter (non-digital) a DD,Dts sony "all in one" home theater, and a Playstation 2 as DVD (don't laugh). Since I am new to the DVD game (only had my Ps2 5 months) I am confused about DVD technology. I've been thinking about buying an additional DVD player to leave my PS2 for strictly gaming...and to enjoy better DVD quality (maybe?)

1) I've seen a lot of posts stating that progressive scan DVD players will only show improvement in digital quality TV's, is this true? Like I mentioned, I do have componet inputs so does that help, or do I need a digital TV to see ANY improvement??

2)What, if any, comparisons to other DVD players or experiences have you very educated people had with the Playstation as a DVD player??

3)My PS2 has 3 screen settings; 16:9, 4:3 letterbox, and 4:3 pan and scan (which I guess could be standard for all DVD players, I don;t know). What I am having a hard time figuring out is which DVD's to rent or buy to fit my screen the best. I hate the black bars on the top and bottom (like I'm sure most do) but it seems like different DVD's produce different size ratio;s, then I started looking...

I found 1.33:1 (which is 4:3) 1.85:1 and 2.35:1 (anamorphic?) Which is supposed to look best on my 4:3 Toshiba, I can't figure it out?

What I have been doing, with most ALL of my DVD's is switching the Playstations screen size to 16:9, creating the "tall, skinny, squashed head" look. Is this how most of you watch your DVD's when you don't have a 16:9 TV?? It looks a little more realistic at 4:3, but at DVD;s with a ratio of 2.35:1 the black bars take up at least HALF of the screen!!