What's new

New HTS: Have HDTV, PS3. Need Receiver/Speaker advice (1 Viewer)

sblack

Auditioning
Real Name
Simon
Hello,

I'm new to Home Theater. Could use some advice on adding sound to my setup. This should replace my old stereo and provide HDMI powered sound from my PS3 and HD cablebox.

Pricing: Under $500.

Have:

- Panasonic 42 inch Plasma TV. 2 HDMI inputs.
- Playstation 3 80 GB Blueray player.
- Comcast cable box with HD.
- Tivo non-HD that could probably be left out of the picture.

Need (from what I understand this is what I need anyway):

- A/V Receiver
- Speakers

Features I Would Prefer to Have:

- Use HDMI whenever possible. Researching this I notice some Receivers use "HDMI pass through" which doesn't take advantage of newer "lossless" output formats. I would love to avoid this, and not need an extra cable, but if that breaks the bank I probably won't notice the difference anytime soon.

- Wireless rear speakers. I see a lot of people don't like wireless. But I really, really need it here. No reasonable way to run wires from our TV to behind our couch where surround sound would be. If the sound is a little poor in back I'm OK with that.

- An iPod dock. I could get the audio files played in other ways (rip CDs or copy files to PS3 Hard Drive, etc.) but just sticking my iPod into the receiver would be the most convenient.

Here is what I'm looking at, but none of them seem to have all the features I want at the same time :frowning: ...

Amazon.com: Home Theater Systems: DVD Home Theater, Mini Home Theater, Speaker Systems & More

Does this make sense? Am I missing anything conceptually in terms of what is needed? I understand I will need extra HDMI cables (which are pricey like $60).

I am really not that picky about sound quality. My wife is a bit more picky. But this is going to be a huge upgrade for us no matter what - just want high quality in terms of ease of use and functionality more than perfect audio quality.

Thanks for any advice,
Simon