New HT receiver questions...which to buy?!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by GabeR, Oct 2, 2002.

1. GabeR

GabeR Agent

I am new to HT and wondered how to choose what to get?>!!
    Not many stores around me let you listen and when they do, i have no clue what to look for
    Ive narrowed it down to either a yamaha htr-5550 or maybe a onkyo...Its just a headache picking from all the companies and whether to buy online or not

I dont like these rip off retail prices either
    I usually watch movies and wanted a good entry level reciever.
    thanks

2. JohnBrianW.

JohnBrianW. Stunt Coordinator

If you check out the archives, you'll find tons of posts answering this exact question

3. GabeR

GabeR Agent

Ok ive read all the posts on what I wanted to know
    but still am kinda confused cuz other sites say yamaha isnt that good and so on
    they say they have a certain bright sound

4. JohnBrianW.

JohnBrianW. Stunt Coordinator

What I've found is that each discussion group favours certain receivers. This site is definitely a Denon Marantz crowd. And anti HK and Yamaha (for the most part). Hey, they are all huge multi national corps...so they all must be doing something right.

5. GabeR

GabeR Agent

well can anyone actually post why I should not buy a yamaha
    denon and marantz are too expensive for a entry level receiver
    some people just go overboard with this stuff

6. Lew Crippen

Lew Crippen Executive Producer

In my opinion the receiver is one of the least critical components in an entry-level system. You need to pick the features that are important to you, so any advice can be misleading; but make sure that you know how long you plan to stay at an ‘entry’ level. Much of the advice given in this forum comes from members who bought something sufficient unto the day—and then began replacing a few months later.