What's new

New HT/Audio system in pre-wired house (1 Viewer)

orthokneepa

Auditioning
Real Name
Matt Mazurczak
I have to admit I am extremely new to this so bear with me. I just bought a new house and Im starting to peice togther my audio/video set up.I have done some research but have many questions about my potential setup/reciever. I dont need super top of the line equipment but dont want to have buy things twice. After talking to a couple of people it sound like I will need a 2 zone reciever for what I want to do.

First goals of set up/rooms set up.

1st room:

Great room with 20 foot ceiling.
Just purchased Samsung 55 LED TV Model# UN55C6300SF which is going above the fire place.(Fire place is only 4 feet tall and there is really no other good place to put it)
Blue Ray DVD player (most likely will go wireless)
Would eventually like 5-7 in wall speakers which I would install myself in 3-6 months once Im settled in.
Would like the ability to hook up an I pod to the reciever.
Reciver recommendation needed.

Other rooms:
Have in celing speaker system set up with approx 10 speakers that came with the house. Not sure what kind they are or even the quality. I can check on that. I would like to control these also as well as future out door speakers with the same reciever that will be in the great room for the above set up. It was recommended that I use a speaker switch box to pick the rooms for partys etc.

Now, any suggestions for a reciever/ in wall speakers for the above set up? Ive heard good things about Denon, Yamaha, and Onkyo recievers but get lost when looking at all the models and options. Also would I need an amplifier for a value/mid range system?
In a couple years I do plan on building a dedicated home theater in the basement but would like something decent for now.

Thanks! If I left any details out or need more info let me know.

orthokneepa

Auditioning
Real Name
Matt Mazurczak