New House, High Ceilings, need more sub

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by VanillaRice, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. VanillaRice

    VanillaRice Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    Real Name:
    Tim
    This is my old living space. When I first moved in and had no speakers. I miss the basic rectangle shaped room with hard wood floors it was so good for SPL hehe.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks quite sad, sorry! But it can be modded to look much better rather easily! Old is gold, so don't bother going anywhere else. You could uproot the room and lay a 1 foot thick concrete floor on it. That would give you tremendous SPL with no feedback whatsoever. That is how my bed room is. Unfortunately, I keep trying to upload images of it from my iPad, but I keep getting a question mark where the link is. And I don't have a computer. Should I try putting it on Google Picasa? In fact, I am going to do exactly just that right now. Then I'll send you the link.
     
  3. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your old place looks fabulous. Why did you move out of it? New job or something?
     
  4. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not only SPL meter, but also an amp with the mic calibrating thingie, done in various places around the room. I have done exactly that, so the SPL meter shows upwards of 120 dB when I crank up the sub! As for the subs, 2 15 inchers should do the trick.
     
  5. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get a Jamo D7 sub. Trust me, it shakes the building foundations. The impedance is 22 ohms of the sub.
     
  6. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Audyssey room eq on my Denon.
     
  7. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Audyssey room eq on my Denon.
    Because of the wooden floor maybe.
     
  8. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Audyssey set mine at 40. Is that good? It sounds flawless.
     
  9. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, Please check out my thread titled -Jamo D7 Speaker System Rave Reviews - - Google Links
     
  10. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I didn't think it was possible to have too many subs. I only have 30 or so subs ranging from 10" to 21" plus parts to build 9 more.
     
  11. sean1976

    sean1976 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Real Name:
    Sean H
    .. then you won't mind sharing a couple with your poor Canadian brother to the North will you? ;)
     
  12. VanillaRice

    VanillaRice Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    Real Name:
    Tim
    You know your addicted when... :D

    And here's me thinking one 15" is enough. I hope you don't influence me to buy more subs. I have bills to pay hehe
     
  13. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    That's why you guys have http://www.creativesound.ca/ and http://www.istonline.ca/ . It's not that I don't like Canadians. My brother-in-law is Canadian and he is a little different.
     
  14. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    In the proper enclosure, one quality 15" will be enough.
     
  15. arjundeepakshriram

    arjundeepakshriram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only one?
     
  16. Gerald LaFrance

    Gerald LaFrance Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Real Name:
    Gerald LaFrance
    http://www.istonline.ca/mach5_ftw_21.html21" are out there and mostly DIY.. I bought a Mach 5 IXL 18.4 and one of those was plenty for me..If you really want a lot of SPL get a Tapped Horn design..they can not be beat for pure spl.. but if you want low get a Ported design.. which can still get respectable SPL in a ported design but they go lower then the Tapped Horn designs..I built a DIY and will never buy a ID or Store bought brand ever again.. they simply for the money can not be beat..EDIT: I just saw your location if gonna do a DIY Possibly these guys can help:http://www.infrasonic.com.au/
     
  17. VanillaRice

    VanillaRice Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    Real Name:
    Tim
    Thanks Gerald,

    I've just emailed them for a shipping quote on there IST mach 5 18". It will most likely be expensive as it weights over 20kg. I do occasionally visit Australia so I could always box it up and travel back with it next time I'm there.
     
  18. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
  19. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    900
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    IF I had that 24"...the first piece of music?

     
  20. VanillaRice

    VanillaRice Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    Real Name:
    Tim
    A pre-order on that 21" IST is very tempting. But shipping weight is 57kg! I'll post back with a shipping cost today.
     

Share This Page