What's new

New hometheater setup advice. (1 Viewer)

Cookiesowns

Auditioning
Real Name
Joseph Wu
Hi all! This is my first time on the forums, and I'm already asking for help. hah! Well, simply put, my family is on the verge of building a new house in Taiwan, and one of the stories will be dedicated to our reference listening room and home theater setup. Our budget isn't substantial but we should be able to have enough to get ourselves some new front speakers and maybe a new projector / screen. Here's our current setup. It's running in 5.1, we have a maybe around 5 yearold Yamaha AVR, THX select certified. We have 4 Infinity speakers, a Yamaha 150W amp, and a Usher R6 running pre/pro. Our center channel is a Usher X-616 which I would say is the best speaker in our current setup. My dad has a ear that likes Yamaha, but we're happy to convert to other brands, since Yamaha does not have the THX certification that we came to enjoy from our old AVR. And after speaking with a local shop, we've been recommended to the Pioneer Elite series. I've already done my homework and I think the SC-57 fits our bill just right. Now here comes the problem, we also need maybe 2-3 speakers to upgrade. My idea is to keep the current infiniti's for our surround and front height, and then get maybe a pair of front towers. The room would be 50/50 split between music and movies. But from our current usage patterns, it'll be towards Blu-ray play back specifically. Our PS3 works quite well, and we'll keep using that. What type of speakers do you guys recommend for a setup? I personally like something that is more dynamic, and has punch, but my dad would like something that's smooth and refined. Clear, non-over powered.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene