What's new

new home wish list question (1 Viewer)

Tim Brewers

Agent
Hey people, since this isn't really HT related I thought I would put it here.

I am building a new home, smallish-1250 sq. feet. I am a carpenter by trade and will be doing 90% of it myself.

What my question is, if you had a pretty limited budget, what would be some of the things you would definately do if you were to do it again? I mean, x-10, speakers in every room, more lights, better flooring, better appliances, more outlets, etc.

Where would put a little extra money? what would you tell the contractor you want done this time because you couldn't/didn't last time? I have built many homes in the last 15 years for other people, this will be the first for myself and just want to make sure I don't forget, or don't do something I should have. I hope this question makes sense.

Keep in mind this is within reason. Now, I am not going to give a price to stay under, just use your heads. :) I am not going to upgrade a $1000 Fridge to a $10,000 commercial one. If one is much better for $200 more I am all for it.

Ok, so now I want everyone's wish list if there were building a new custom home and had a budget. :)

Thanks,

Brew

Kevin Stewart

Second Unit
Real Name
Kevin Stewart