What's new

New Home - to pre-wire or not to pre-wire? (1 Viewer)

BalaamsAss

Auditioning
Real Name
Cary Hawkins
Attached is a layout of my new home with gameroom. I have a very basic 5.1 system currently, but will probably upgrade in the future after we furnish the house and whatnot. I have the option of pre-wiring the house, which seems to be prudent to do ahead of time. I was thinking of maybe just doing the rear surround speakers, running the wiring 6" from the ceiling and leaving my front speakers on stands, which are currently used for my rear speakers in our home now. The couch isn't ideal for the area, but that's what we'll use until we can upgrade later. The right side of the gameroom will be for board games.

So, my thought is to just pre-wire the rear surround speakers, but I'm a noob when it comes to home theater setups, so if there's something I should obviously do, please make a recommendation.

Thanks!

Attachments

• new home gameroom project.jpg
    new home gameroom project.jpg
    87.4 KB · Views: 165

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I (or someone) can go into more detail later when I have more time, but I'd wire the room for 7.1, or even 7.1.4, for more flexibility. Where you have your current surround speakers are really where the second pair of surrounds should be in a 7.1 system. For 5.1 they should be to the sides of the viewing position, not behind it. For 7.1.4 then you would add two pairs of in-ceiling speakers. One pair in front and one pair behind the viewing position.

Bobofbone

Second Unit
Real Name
Bob