New Home Theatre. Want Opinions!! I am new to HTF!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Adam_Reiter, Oct 11, 2001.

1. Adam_Reiter

Adam_Reiter Second Unit

(very long, sorry) Hey guys, my name is Adam. I am 25(25yrs). I've really only been posting to Klipsch's forum, until I found this one. I am in a very lucky situation as my wife, Beth(22yrs) has agreed to let me use approx $8000-$8500 of our tax refund this next year to buy Home Theatre Equipment. We estimate to get back Approx $16,000 back this year. Kewl thing is, is I don't have to include the TV in that amount. I am getting the Sony KV-36XBR450 36” Trinitron Wega next month! ($1999 Circuit City) I am not going to commit to getting a big screen tv until they advance the technology down the road and come up with a standard for HDTV. Anyway, I am purchasing all the other quipment early FEB. Here is the list of Equipment I am planning on getting. Please feel free to offer any suggestions, comments, or alternative equipment you think would maybe be better in certain situations.
    The list so far goes as follows:
    Onkyo TX-DS989 THX Ultra Reciever (Ebay/Online: $2100)
    Onkyo DV-S939 THX Ultra DVD (Ebay/Online: $1300)
    Klipsch RF-7 Tower Speakers (Ebay/Online: $1500)
    Klipsch RC-7 Center(1 frnt,1 Rear)(Ebay/Online: $500/ea)
    Klipsch RS-7 Surround Speakers (Ebay/Online: $550)
    SVS Ultra Subwoofer w/1000 Amp (SVS Direct: $1400/one)