What's new

New Home Theater System - need advise! (1 Viewer)

foldpages

Auditioning
Real Name
Tommy
Hi everyone

I currently own a Bose Lifestyle 525 Series 2 system, and I'm very unhappy with it. I'm having a hard time hearing dialogue when watching movies and music just doesn't sound good. The speakers are too small. I have finally decided to get rid of this system and invest in something better.

After speaking to various local stores, with everyone having a different opinion and recommendation, I went out on my own and put some ideas together. I would appreciate any thoughts you have on these options, or maybe better recommendations. I am totally new to this and I understand that buying speakers is a huge subjective opinion.

Speakers:

- B&W CM5 S2 (pair)

Center:

- B&W CM Center S2

Sub options:

- HSU VTF-2 MK4

- SVS SB-2000

Rear:

- B&W M1 (pair)

Receiver:

- Marantz SR5010

- Pioneer VSX-90

Cables:

- C&E CNE62270 100-Feet 12AWG Enhanced Loud Oxygen-Free Copper

I was somewhat focused on B&W during my research as I do like their design with the glossy black and the yellow. I was also able to demo the CM5's and I did like their sound.

My hearing space is about 20x20 feet with 2 glass walls and blinds. Wood floors with area rug. Not an ideal environment for speakers. I am watching 70% movies/tv and 30% music.

I appreciate any help on this! I would like to stay around $4500.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Well...anything is an enormous improvement.

My lone suggestion, you don't need to buy expensive speaker wire. Go to Lowe's/Home Depot etc and get 12 or 14 awg lamp cord.

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Agree with Sam, but also, if you will be running the speaker wire in the wall, make sure it's CL2. The stuff you posted (at least according to the picture on Amazon) is not CL2 rated.

foldpages

Auditioning
Real Name
Tommy