What's new

New Home - Set up Home Theater (1 Viewer)

labjt

Auditioning
Real Name
John
We just built a new home and had the living room space wired for internet and speakers.

We have our current TV, but nothing else. (A couple years old Sharp 60" 1080) Well, I did buy some Dayton cubes just because they were so darn cheap, but I don't have to use them. I have had some good experience with Dayton in the past. I have generally been a been a bit of a low budget audio guy up to this point, listening to music via old records, but this is my first foray into "home theater".

I'm attaching the room with the layout of furniture. The furniture is not perfectly to scale, but gives a rough idea. The green circles are where the speaker wire is in the ceiling.

The purpose here is just general enjoyment of movies/TV with my wife and kids. I'm not worried top performance, etc.

So I guess I need the following:

AV Receiver
Blue Ray Player
Streaming Player (have used Roku previously)
Speakers
Sub

Where do I start and what do you recommend? Budget: I'd lean to lower cost just because I suspect I cannot enjoy all the benefits of a lot of components since this is not a dedicated theater, but a living room as well. However, if there is a compelling reason to consider a higher-end item for my set up I would entertain.

If there is anything I haven't addressed, please ask and I will try to clarify. If you think of something I need, but haven't listed please let me know!

Final note: there are four ethernet ports that connect to the internet behind the TV.

Thanks for any help!

Attachments

• room layout.png
    room layout.png
    127.1 KB · Views: 98

Stephen_J_H

All Things Film Junkie
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Stephen J. Hill
A few questions: