What's new

New home, need to pre-wire & determine what to use (1 Viewer)

derekcentrico

Auditioning
Real Name
Derek gordon
We’re starting to build a construction home which is sucking up the budget quite largely. I want to create the most bang for my buck with our tech setup. I created some images that I’m attaching using Sketchup to kind of show my envisioned setup of our small watching area.

I intend to have the area hardwired for 5.1 surround sound, zone 2 running out to the patio, using a wall-mounted LED 42-47in Google TV (I’m one of the few fans out there I think!), powered by a newer network-connected Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver. Speakers are undecided. Doubt I'll put any Bluray or other players in the area.

My major issues:

[*]Deciding between a sound bar or using the 5.1 surround sound for the small area we have
[*]Where to have the wiring located for the 5.1 surround sound as you see the walkway area makes it awkward
[*]Kind of connected to #2, where to mount the speakers
[/list]
Any other advice would be much appreciated. I’m not able to do too much with the layout as the wife is in charge of that! Tech is my area to run (yay).

Thanks in advance!

http://derekgordon.com/images/model.1.fw.png
model.1.fw.png

http://derekgordon.com/images/model.2.fw.png
model.2.fw.png

http://derekgordon.com/images/model.3.fw.png
model.3.fw.png

http://derekgordon.com/images/model.4.fw.png
model.4.fw.png

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
You have numerous speaker options.

With the 626 you can get...for the fronts.

The "LCR bar"...

1. Leon(from Michigan) Horizon LCR bars. The company makes them to your spec, meaning "however wide your TV is"...is how wide your LCR bar is made. Last I checked he has 6 different versions to choose from. Other manufacturers that make LCR bars are...

2. Pinnacle. They invented the entire idea when plasma first hit the market.
3. Def Tech.
4. James

5. There are thousands of others.