New hobby!!Need help!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by dave-u, Aug 2, 2002.

1. dave-u

dave-u Auditioning

Hello everyone, this is my first post. I am new to the world of stereo. I have recently bought some new equipment and want to make sure I am getting the most out of it. I've done some research and found you guys to be very informative and professional. I am also happy to see that some of the stuff I have, you guys talk about. I do understand alittle bit about this stuff but as far as hook-ups and settings, I am lost! I guess a run down of what I have would help.
    Monitor:Hitachi 61udx10b
    Receiver[​IMG]enon 3802
    Speakers:Infinity IL 60's front channels
    Infinity IL 36c center channel
    Infinity IL 10's rear channels
    DVD Player:Had and older Panasonic rp-56 model but it recently has given up the ghost. Been watching you guys and the Denon DVD-1600 seems to be a pretty good choice. Any thoughts?
    I guess what I am really looking for is the best set-up for my speakers to match the 3802. I don't understand when they ask "small" or "large" speakers in the set-up menu. I don't know what to do with the sub settings since my subs are in my front channels.
    Alright, no sense in listing what I don't know, that would take to long. I really need someone to run down the whole set-up menu for me with my particular set-up.
    I would greatly appreciate any help!! Plus, I could really use some ideas on where to buy. Obviously you guys now where to buy. Some of the prices I've seen on here have been awesome. Again, any help is greatly appreciated and I look forward to talking with you guys in the future to learn more about this stuff and get the most out of my equipment.
    Thanks,dave-u

2. Kimmo Jaskari

Kimmo Jaskari Screenwriter

In most cases, speakers should be set to small all round since few main speakers can match the sub for bass.