What's new

New here, and new to this: quick advice picking out a home theatre system (1 Viewer)

eme158

Auditioning
Real Name
eme
Hi, I came across this forum while looking for information online. I have recently decided to go out and purchase some sort of home theatre system for my tv (as you probably can tell by now, I am a complete noob). Unfortunately, my budget is pretty low (I am hoping to spend under $500 for the whole thing...$400 is even better..). The problem is, I don't understand all the lingo. I have been looking at "home theatre in a box" type home theatres (as they seem to be cheapest) and I have been on the sony site, looking at their lower end home theatres. I have even googled "best home theatre in a box 2010" and ended up getting confused by all the specifications they list, and what to be looking for.

Anyway I figured I would consult people who may actually know a thing or two.. and so I am wondering if anyone can recommend any good, reliable, cheap home theatre systems that are new and compatible with "up-and-coming technology" (3d, blu ray, etc). I have a ps3, so does that mean I don't need a blu ray player?

Also, if you have more time to answer my question, what sort of things should I be looking for in a home theatre? If you had my budget, what would you buy? Or should I wait a few years after I get out of college and save up for a bigger, better one?

I was looking at the sony 5.1 channel surround sound system HT-SF470..and other similar ones like the Sony 5.1 Channel 3D Blu-ray Home Theatre System (BDVE870) (this one comes with a blue ray). I'm open to getting other brands, I just looked at Sony first because my tv is a Sony. Any recommendations or advice would be really appreciated.

Thank you in advance! Sorry for all the very clueless questions

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al