New HDTV, mixed opinions.

Discussion in 'Displays' started by GarenSinaii, Sep 18, 2004.

  1. GarenSinaii

    GarenSinaii Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, well I went ahead and got an HDTV today with a Progressive Scan DVD Player.

    I got the Samsung 30" HDTV Monitor (TX-P3064W) and Panasonic DVD Player (DVD-S27S) DVD player. I bought component cables and got my Home Essentials Calibration disc.

    I enabled 480P on the DVD player, and after calibration, I just don't see a big difference that HD has to offer. It looks no-where near the quality of the programming at the store(so I assume DVD's aren't at that level yet). The picture is grainy, and a little soft so Im pretty upset over that.

    Xbox, I have that hooked up also with component cables, I enabled 480P and 1080i in the Setup, and I also have mixed opinions. Sure it looks good, but it doesn't really amaze me. Im still tweaking around with the calibrating, but as of now I just spent about a grand and I'm not too happy yet. What do you guys think?
     
  2. Will d s

    Will d s Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    DVD's are not exactly high def They are only 480P if they had a 1080i/p or 720p source in the store it will definitely be a better picture. You should try to set it up with some HD sources with an over the air HD antenna or through your cable/satellite company.
     
  3. Aaron H

    Aaron H Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    480P DVD images should look pretty much the same on your new HDTV as they do on my old 27" Sony Trinitron. Like the previous poster said, you need to see some HD images.
     
  4. GarenSinaii

    GarenSinaii Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I actually went ahead and got a Sony KV30HS420. Immediately everything is much clearer, such as the Xbox main menu. Im going to calibrate the set right now.
     
  5. Gary SI

    Gary SI Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you find that a 30" TV is large enough ?
    I know that the Sony does 720p is that why you swiched ?
    Do you miss not having PiP ?
    Thanks,
    Gary [​IMG]
     
  6. GarenSinaii

    GarenSinaii Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the 30'' is defenitely large enough for my bedroom. I don't miss not having PIP because my old Sony Wega didn't have PIP either.
     
  7. Robert Cowan

    Robert Cowan Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    good choice on the sony. i finally got my 34" in the other day. i have been messing around with setting and service menu codes, and its looking good. im going to wait until the tube burns in a bit before i really fine-tune it though.

    i had a panasonic 36" analog tube tv, which was a decent tv. i had it full calibrated and setup. i noticed an immediated improvement in dvd's over that tv.

    of course, hd will look even better, but an HD capable set should even look better with just dvd too, imo.
     
  8. GarenSinaii

    GarenSinaii Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are service menu tweaks? I've heard of "service menu" before but Im not really sure what it is.
     
  9. Robert Cowan

    Robert Cowan Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    the service menu is all the stuff sony doesnt want you to mess with. you can do scaling of the image, positioning, and more importantly, individual color adjustments. for instance, if you just have too much red (red push), but adjusting the tint give you too much green, you can go into service menu and JUST take out red alone. stuff like that. i think in the sony you can even adjust individual black and white levels, and even tweak the DRC etc... its not for the weak of heart, but there is a reset mode if you completely screw up your tv.
     
  10. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would be very careful with service mode even if there is a reset. The reset may put the TV into pre-factory settings as opposed to the "factory settings" by the factory calibrators just before shipment.

    Write down the original setting before making a change.

    Also, going into service mode may void the warranty, depends on the terms of the warranty.

    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     
  11. George Monroy

    George Monroy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do Toshiba TVs have a service mode? I was going to buy the 32HF73.
     

Share This Page