New Hard Drive, Will it work?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Peter McDonald, Dec 25, 2001.

  1. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm thinking about upgrading my 6.4GB hard drive to a 60GB 7200RPM Western Digital drive.

    My current specs are:

    -Celeron 400MHz

    -288MB PC100 SDRAM

    -not sure what the motherboard is, but it uses the Intel 810 chipset

    -Win98SE

    Will I have any trouble with the new drive? Will my current configuration support it?

    Thanks,

    Peter
     
  2. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should be fine except that I doubt your mobo can support ATA100 but probably only ATA66.
     
  3. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't think it could support ATA 100 [​IMG]
    Anyways, do know how I can find out what motherboard I have? Any program I can download? I checked the manual, but it doesn't say anything about it.
    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  4. Benny G

    Benny G Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Benny. I ran the program and this is the some of the info that showed up:

    Intel Corporation Whitney System CR Board Revision A0

    Board: Intel Corporation Whitney System CR Platform

    BIOS: Phoenix Technologies LTD 6.00 10/09/1999

    32 kilobyte primary memory cache

    128 kilobyte secondary memory cache

    Standard Floppy Disk Controller

    Intel 82801AB Bus Master IDE Controller

    Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)

    Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)

    Any of that make a difference? Also, will I be able to use the existing IDE cable for the new drive, or do I need a special one?

    Thanks,

    Peter
     
  6. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To use ATA/66/100 you need an 80-wire IDE cable. The drive will work fine with a standard 40-wire IDE but you wont get the extra bandwidth.

    However I'm not sure your board will even support ATA/66.
     
  7. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How/where can I find out if it supports ATA/66?
     
  8. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I opened up the case today, to have a look at the motherboard diagram (strange place to put it... wish it was in the manual). Anyways, it's titled CD656M-WH/WL

    Does that mean anything?

    Peter
     
  9. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rob, almost to the big 10K!

    That number sounds like the model or serial number of the board. Your motherboard or computer manual will tell you what it supports. Worse comes to worse, ATA-66 ports tend to be BLUE on the motherboard
     
  10. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't get a motherboard manual with the computer. And the computer manual is junk. It shows how to turn on/off the computer, install RAM, and install expansion cards... horrible documentation. I'll open up the computer later and see what colour it is.

    Peter
     
  11. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been reading on Intel's site, and I have found out that my motherboard doesn't support ATA/66 (chipset limitation).

    ATA/66 works on 810 chipsets using the I/O Controller Hub 82801AA (ICH), not the I/O Controller Hub 82801AB (ICH0). I have the 82801AB (ICH0)... damn.

    Does anyone know a good online tutorial that shows how to clean install Windows 98SE on a new hard drive? (detailed too)

    Thanks,

    Peter
     
  12. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update

    Well, I e-mailed the tech support of the people who made my computer (IDot). And they said it supports ATA/66... which is strange. I doubt it will work at ATA/66, but I may as well give it a try.

    Peter
     

Share This Page