New guy question - What makes a Denon 2900 better than a Pioneer Elite 45A?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Rodon, Jun 10, 2003.

1. Rodon

Rodon Second Unit

I am very new to HT technologies. Both of these players play DVD Audio and SACD correct? Why would I pay more money for a 2900 over the 45a?

Just so you know I have:
    Denon 3802
    7-ch Infinity Interlude setup
    36" Wega TV

Not sure what I am looking for in the price differences.
    I would like to move up to a DVD-A and SACD player.

Thanks for any help.

2. Rachael B

Rachael B Producer

Rachael Bellomy
    Rodon, my sister and her hubbie bought a 45A and I played around with it a bit when visiting recently. I've played with the 2900 extensively (only for audio) at two different dealers. There's no doubt in my mind that the 2900 sounds better but it also reasonably good bass management for M/C. The Pioneer does not. I like the Denon faceplate controls better. I'm lukewarm on it's remote. I'm tough on remotes! I would of liked the Pioneer's alot if it was lighted but neither is the 47A/i's. Elite don't give no lite like the old LD one's did.[​IMG] I say an Elite player should have a lite, no matter what format!

The 2900 is hardly the ultimate uni player possible but it certainly has alot fewer compromises than the 45a. I'm considering a 2900 myself. It may come down to if I like it's video quality? I really need a DVD player more than an audio player, but I'd like to have both. I'm waffling a bit. Best wishes!

3. Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown Producer

The Denon also costs about $400 more than the Pioneer... So it ought to perform better. [​IMG]

4. Guy Robinson

Guy Robinson Agent