What's new

New DA4ES, I Have Questions! (1 Viewer)

Bill Mullin

Stunt Coordinator
I set up my new DA4ES, then I studied the manual cover-to-cover, testing everything that wasn't 100% clear to me. Since the manual isn't that good (IMHO), I then did searches in this forum for more information. What follows are questions for which I still haven't been able to find answers:

1. If I want EQ bank 1 for movies and EQ bank 2 for music, I have to manually switch the EQ bank when I change function. Is there a way to memorize which EQ bank I want for each function?

2. This question is very similar to the previous question: If I want Prolog II:Movies for movies and Prolog II:Music for music, I have to manually switch the surround mode when I change function. Is there a way to memorize which Pro Logic surround mode I want for each function?

3. What is the difference between Wide, Mid, and Narrow widths on the EQ Midrange setting for front and center speakers? The manual does a terrible job explaining this and the graph on the OSD doesn't clarify the manual at all!

4. If I switch both my A and B front speakers on, the receiver automatically switches over to 2-channel stereo. This is in accordance to the manual, but why is this necessary?

5. When there is an option of choosing coax or optical sound input for a particular function, the manual always says to choose coax. Why would this be? I'd always heard that optical cable gave the best audio!

6. What is the best EQ setting to maximize dialog clarity in the center channel? I'm trying to end the, "Huh, what did s/he say?" syndrome!

7. Is there a link out there called "Getting the most out of your DA4ES", or "Tips on using your DA4ES", or "Getting the most out of your Sony A/V Receiver", or something of this nature? Such a link would be very useful for me, as well as to others I'm sure.