New CT 150

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by steve nn, Jan 26, 2002.

  1. steve nn

    steve nn Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a new ct 150 and noticed it has two RCA plugs for the line in from my sub out on my receiver.I tried using just one like they said,"the seller", and it seems to be wroking fine,but I sure would appreciate confirmation on this.My other subs only had line in,one line out, one jack each.I wander if I should use a Y at the sub in instead of just one side?Should the receiver be set +3 on sub channel,Three higher than the rest? steve nn
     
  2. Steve Stogel

    Steve Stogel Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure about the inputs, but as far as the settings, a lot of people like the sub to be up about 6dB in relation to the other speakers (especially with bass management in use...i.e., setting all/most of your speakers to small). But just cranking up the receiver's sub signal 3dB doesn't cut it. You need a RatShack SPL meter. Then you can set all your speakers at a proper level for your listening position (one surround may be further than another, one speaker in a corner and the other not, et cetera). Then, when you calibrate your sub, you only need to set it 3dB higher because the SPL meter rolls off (or so I understand) about 3dB down in the lower frequencies. Hope this helps.

    Steve

    P.S. You really should use a test disk like Avia or Video Essentials to do this from your DVD player. The test tones on your receiver should get you close, but when you run a DVD, it may not match up exactly.
     
  3. steve nn

    steve nn Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Steve for your help.I will set the channel 6db higher for now and I will get the meter down the road.I did make it over to the velodyne sight and they did have the answer on the two jack in on the back of unit.I guess it is to increase signal for the auto on off function.If I here any different then I will go with the Y.I have only had my other subs for a month or two now and just had to upgrade because of all the postings on this sight.I'm sure glad I did.This thing moves some air and I can really shake the house if I want to.[​IMG] [​IMG] steve nn
     

Share This Page