new computer, low speaker volume

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Joey Skinner, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. Joey Skinner

    Joey Skinner Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a Dell 8400 and I'm having trouble getting enough volume from the speakers. I did not get new speakers; I'm using the ones from my old HP computer. I've opened the volume controls and have everything maxed but I'm only getting about 20% of what I think the volume should be. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    i know this is a stupid question, but are you sure your speakers are connected to the correct output on your new pc? maybe you have it on a variable output, or some other funky jack?

    i can't imagine an 80% loss in sound quality, just by going to a different computer. weird...
     
  3. Joey Skinner

    Joey Skinner Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    The speaker jack is plugged in to the line out. Is it possible that these speakers are not compatible with Dell? Or am I just missing something on setup.
     
  4. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    How bought this as more obvious:

    Almost all (in fact, basically all) new computers require -powered- speakers, because they only output line out, non-amplified signal.. so they can't drive a speaker on their own.

    If your speakers are non-powered, the results you are getting are normal.
     
  5. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh yeah...good call chris! that's probably it...
     
  6. Michael Whitney

    Michael Whitney Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could also be a volume setting on the program you are using. I know Winamp or some other programs, its more difficult to find where the program volume adjusting area is.

    Most likely the powered speaker answer will solve your problem.
     
  7. Joey Skinner

    Joey Skinner Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bought some cheap powered speakers, problem solved, thanks for all replies. One more question..
    I have some GR Research AV-1s I'm not using and would like to use them for my computer with a small sub I'll build later. Can someone walk me through what all I'll need to do? I have an integrated sound card (5.1) on my computer now.
     
  8. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm assuming the gr speakers are not self-amplified. so you'll need to hook them up to a receiver (or at least an outboard amp of some sort).

    1. run the line-out from your sound-card to the amp
    2. plug the speakers into the amp

    since you're going to be using a sub, you'll want to make sure your receiver has a sub-out as well.
     

Share This Page