New Cables for First install?

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by John S Smith, Feb 16, 2005.

1. John S Smith

John S Smith Agent

Got my components together finally, a bit of a hodge podge, but all new within the last year, anchored by Marrantz SR7500 with so many connection options my head hurts. I am new to HT so have only cables supplied with equipment, should I;

Select (with your help) a reasonable set of patch cables online (speaker wire is selected already, I'm running HD 12 Ga. with decent Banana plugs for both fronts and surrounds. Just moving electrons along a conductor!) ?

Buy them locally with possibility to return cables I ultimately don't need?

Are there any members living close to Huntington Beach Ca. who could maybe swing by for a couple of cold ones and a chat?

..john

2. Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm Lead Actor

I'd stick with the pack-ins unless you have specific problems with them. Line-level audio and video are not taxing and do not require particularly robust cabling. If your cables are visible and you want a clean look there's lots of options available. My favorite cable suppliers are www.cablesforless.com and www.trianglecables.com I've had very good experience with both companies and their cables are completely adequate.

3. Tim_Stack

Tim_Stack Second Unit

I got some audio cables from Outlaw Audio recently and my sound significantly improved, even over the cables I had from Blue Jeans cable I had for analog audio for my mains.

4. Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm Lead Actor

How did you determine that the sound "improved"?

5. Kevin_F

Kevin_F Stunt Coordinator

Not to change topic, but how do you like the 7500 John?

6. Bryan Pape

Bryan Pape Auditioning