Networking

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ike, Dec 30, 2002.

1. Ike

Ike Screenwriter

Lately, I've been meaning to network 2 computers in my house (and maybe my X-Box) so that they can use my cable modem. I'm a complete newbie at this, and was wondering what I'd need to do this? Also, are network kits a good route to go?

Will networking slow the connection down on the computer the modem is hooked up to? Will files be shared in between the computers? Can I play games head to head via the computers?

Thanks.

2. Mike LS

Mike LS Supporting Actor

You'll just need a cable router with ports for mulitple hookups (or a seperate hub...depending on how many connections you make to it)

Configuring the router can be a bit of a pain depending on what kind you get, but it should be fairly straightforward. You'll just connect your internet connection to the router, then run all of your PC's off of the ethernet connections and configure.

If you can find a kit with the pieces you need, then go for it. You'll need the above hardware and cables long enough to go from PC to PC to XBOX from the router/hub. Networking shouldn't slow the connection down noticably unless you're accessing the internet on both PC's at the same time.

You will be able to share files along with your internet connection, and you'll also be able to play games over your network with the right games. Not all online capable games can be played between two PC's on a network, but many can. You'll have to check the documentation with the game.

3. Brendan B

Brendan B Extra

You'll also need NIC (network interface cards) installed on each computer you intend having on the network.

I recommend getting Linksys NICs and a Linksys router as those have worked painlessly for me.

4. Ike

Ike Screenwriter

Sorry to revive this thread, but would this kit work? What would I need to add? Is this a good kit?

5. John_Berger

John_Berger Cinematographer