Hardware Review NEST Thermostat with Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote Integration: A Review

Mike Frezon

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
53,121
Reaction score
15,281
Points
9,110
Age
61
Location
Rensselaer, NY
I am sure you downloaded the app for your smartphone or tablet.
Sure did. It's amazing how nice the Thermostat, doorbell/camera and app work in consort!

Although, the thermostat dumped off the wi-fi for a while today (about 4-5 hours). I double-checked our wifi and it was as strong as normal. And, it ended up reconnecting itself without any adjustment or effort on my part. Does anyone else ever have this happen?

I don’t know if this has already been covered, but under a program for energy conservation,(since discontinued), here in Ontario, we got our Nest Thermostat free. It was also installed free of charge.
The Nest E was a good value -- I was able to get one for under $100 after a substantial rebate from our local natural gas utility (Consumers Energy). Our old programmable thermostat cost $35 many years ago -- it was provided and installed by the contractor when we replaced our furnace.
Yeah. I ordered mine from my utility as they were having a great deal--a sale plus another rebate on top of that. I ordered the doorbell from the utility, too.

I now have to get some more of the paint we used on our living room wall as the Nest thermostat is a lot smaller than my big old rectangle programmable thermostat. This is okay...because I have a couple other spots I need to touch up, too. :D
 

Mike Frezon

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
53,121
Reaction score
15,281
Points
9,110
Age
61
Location
Rensselaer, NY
How does the doorbell coordinate with the thermostat? Does it recognize your in-laws and turn the temperature down uncomfortably low so they don’t stay too low? :D
Fingers crossed.

They do, after all, call it a "learning thermostat."
 

Jason_V

Lead Actor
Joined
May 7, 2001
Messages
7,500
Reaction score
2,498
Points
9,110
Age
41
Location
Bothell, WA
Real Name
Jason
Random NEST story...

My ex asked me to install the thermostat at his condo over the weekend. After taking his old thermostat apart, we realized he has a wall unit that is not compatible with a NEST. His wires are far too big; it's something I never considered. My place is older than his and I didn't have a problem with mine. Suffice to say he doesn't have a NEST up and won't be able to have one.

Moral: check your wires...
 

TJPC

Producer
Joined
Jul 15, 2016
Messages
3,740
Reaction score
3,245
Points
4,110
Age
68
Location
Hamilton Ontario
Real Name
Terry Carroll
We had a similar problem until we had to get a new furnace. Apparently Nest needs 3 wires to function, but our old system only sent 2 to the thermostat.
 

Mike Frezon

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
53,121
Reaction score
15,281
Points
9,110
Age
61
Location
Rensselaer, NY
We had a similar problem until we had to get a new furnace. Apparently Nest needs 3 wires to function, but our old system only sent 2 to the thermostat.
Nope. I've only got two wires to my furnace and the Nest (Learning, 3rd. Gen.) works fine.

They have compatibility walk-throughs on their website (easy-to-use) to make sure your heating/cooling system works with the Nest. Wall units and 110+ volt systems are among those which are no gos. Thick, stranded wiring is also, IIRC, not acceptable.
 

Jason_V

Lead Actor
Joined
May 7, 2001
Messages
7,500
Reaction score
2,498
Points
9,110
Age
41
Location
Bothell, WA
Real Name
Jason
They have compatibility walk-throughs on their website (easy-to-use) to make sure your heating/cooling system works with the Nest. Wall units and 110+ volt systems are among those which are no gos. Thick, stranded wiring is also, IIRC, not acceptable.
That was the problem, Mike. The wires were connected with electrical nuts and the wire was way too big. This, honestly, never occurred to me.
 

Mike Frezon

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
53,121
Reaction score
15,281
Points
9,110
Age
61
Location
Rensselaer, NY
Yeah. To be honest about it, I purchased mine without doing the compatibility check first and issued a huge sigh of relief when I confirmed that my system was okay (and that's in a 100 year old house--with original wiring--and the original hot-water/radiator furnace!!!).

The furnace is a HUGE monstrosity in my basement that was originally coal-fired. It was later converted to oil burning and then converted to gas-burning. When I purchased the home, the guy who came to check out my furnace for me said "you know how they use the phrase "energy-efficient" in terms of units like this? NOT with this one!" :D

But it now has a state-of-the-art blue-tooth thermostat controlling it. :rolleyes:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Scott Merryfield

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,768
Messages
4,689,463
Members
141,040
Latest member
magnificent9