What's new

Neighbor's Dog (1 Viewer)

Chris

Senior HTF Member
We have a neighbor with a Rottweiler. Now, this dog is gigantic, but because it's against local code, they keep him pinned up so almost no one sees him unless you go out really early in the morning or if they get gutsy in the afternoon.

Having a family member as a vet, I'm well aware not all Rottweilers are vicious, etc. However, this animal charges the gates everytime it's out with biting and barking while it jumps at our fences if we or the kids are out. The same is true of some of our other neighbors.

Neighbors have expressed discomfort with the animal, but so far, we haven't made a dent in the opinion of the owner. If the dog is retained inside, the City doesn't seem to do anything, although another neighbor has turned it in.

Yesterday, as another neighbor held a birthday party, the thing got loose and started barking, clawing at the fence between them, etc. It kept up such a ruckus that the kids went inside because they were unnerved (the kids were about 6/7, 1st graders)..

That neighbor has now openly suggested/informed the owner that if it happens again, the dog is dead. (suggestions of nice ways to spike food and leave it out, etc.)

I have a feeling this could break into something really unhappy between several neighbors as right now it's basically everyone vs. one. However, I can't hop on board with the "let's put metal shivs in a steak and toss it to him so it tears up his insides and he dies." Just doesn't sit too well with me either to kill another neighbor's dog that way (admission: in the past, I have shot a neighbor's dog, but only when it was literally in the middle of attacking a person, and that was years ago on a farm, not in the city)

I'm suggesting the neighbor go back to the city and re-report the owner. *shrug*

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Please, let's don't discuss the many ways of killing dogs. Talk about the situation constructively.

DonnyD

Screenwriter