Need your help: I'm finishing my H/T Room's ceiling!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dan Smith, Jan 8, 2001.

1. Dan Smith

Dan Smith Agent

I'm finally ready to finish my H/T Room's ceiling. I need recommendations on what type of tiles to purchase. Should I do a suspended ceiling with some sort of acoustic tiles? I don't have a huge budget for this, also I plan on selling the house in ~two years. Home Hardware type recommendations would be preferable.
    Thanks in advance guys for your help and guidance [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Wizard's First Rule:
    People Are Stupid: They believe what they want to believe because they want it to be true, or because they are afraid it might be true! Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander
    [​IMG]

2. Andres Munoz

Andres Munoz Cinematographer

Though I'm no expert in this by no means, I would recommend a drop ceiling with acoustical tiles.
    I just bought my house 3 months ago and the basement came with a drop ceiling. It helps very much for running cables and hiding them from view.
    I run all my speaker cabling up there and an S-video cable from the back of the room where the components are, to the front of the room where the TV sits.
    If I didn't have a drop ceiling, the cables would have gone under the carpet, which is a real pain in the ass to do.
    ------------------
    Andres

3. Dan Smith

Dan Smith Agent

Does anyone know what type of acoustical tiles a should buy from a Home Hardware type store. I know that there are many types available. Do I want to absorb sound? Reflect it? Absorb only high frequencies? Lows? Can you absorb too much?
    As you can see I have no idea. Does anyone have recommendations on the tiles?
    Thanks [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Wizard's First Rule:
    People Are Stupid: They believe what they want to believe because they want it to be true, or because they are afraid it might be true! Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander
    [​IMG]

4. Steve U

Steve U Extra