Need to do a cheap subwoofer, already have a driver.

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by ChrisLazarko, Dec 20, 2003.

  1. ChrisLazarko

    ChrisLazarko Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I got a cheapo driver here that is about 6 inches. Just need to do a basic subwoofer, all I need is a cheap amplifier, maybe something like 20 watts. It doesn't need to be powerful at all, just something to give a little oomph to the system. Not looking to spend alot as this is for my cousins girlfriend and she is well... pretty broke.

    Any help would be appreciated that could be given... Also I will be running this off the sub-out with a normal coax cable... Thanks for any help.


    The amp needs to have a Line In.
     
  2. GrahamT

    GrahamT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have TS specs for the driver then plug em into Winisd and design the box there to maximize performance. As for the amp, look for an old stereo amp because a sub amp will run you over $100 for 100W. Tell her to corner load the sub.
     
  3. Frank Carter

    Frank Carter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. ChrisLazarko

    ChrisLazarko Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys.
     
  5. Arthur_King

    Arthur_King Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not intending to hijack the thread, but since it seems you received your answer, maybe I can put one out there.

    Ive heard many a person indicate that they were contemplating using an old receiver to power a sub. The little tiny bit of electronics that I know isn't jiving with this. What i mean is, say I have a home theatre and I have a nice HT receiver with 5.1 blah blah. The outputs from the receiver are amped at say 100w/channel. How am I to run that through ANOTHER receivers input (which should be expecting line level) and then through ANOTHER amp to go out to the subwoofer. Maybe im missing something.

    Do I need to go crack a real EE book and read for a while? What am I missing. Isnt there a huge impedance difference between the Linelevel (RCA) input on a receiver and what is expected?

    Daffy Arthur King
     
  6. Andrew Pierce

    Andrew Pierce Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Real Name:
    Andrew Pierce
    Arthur,

    Almost all 5.1 receivers put out 5 amplified channels and have only a line level sub out. Occasionally you'll find all-in-one home theater systems which come with a passive sub with amplification for it in the head unit, but this is the exception rather than the rule.
     

Share This Page