Need some help w/evaluation and comparison

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Lew Crippen, Jul 10, 2002.

1. Lew Crippen

Lew Crippen Executive Producer

May 19, 2002
    As I am a real novice in the whole HT area, and as there are a whole host of options available for equipment purchase since I last lived in the States (background: I’ve spent the last seven years in Asia/Pacific and most of the two years before that in South America) I have a general question on how some of you came to your equipment decisions.

Basically, the WEB appears to give some very favorable options, insofar as value for money is concerned. I’ve followed several of the discussions for the last few months (I knew that I’d want to make some changes when I returned) and I see two general trends: (1) those who attempt to listen to their choices and make comparisons as to which speakers best fit their personal preferences and budget and (2) those who also include speakers which are not generally available for audition (and even when they are, do not lend themselves well for comparison purposes).

I’ve read very persuasive arguments, from those of you who have purchased speakers sight (or sound) unseen and are quite pleased. I’ve also read the advice that as speakers is such a personal taste choice; you should listen before making up your mind.

How is one to decide?

To cite one example on my personal quandary, I am ready to replace my subwoofer (other speakers next). After reading several threads in this forum (and some other research), it appears as though SVS, Hsu and Adire all have models that would be satisfactory for my needs. I have, of course actually heard none of them. How is one to compare? And further, how do you make the comparison of any (or all) of these against similar models of brands that can easily be auditioned?