What's new

Need some help on a very basic home theater setup (1 Viewer)

cjgw2003

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris
Hey everybody! This is my first post, so here goes:

I just got a new TV and home theater system, and I'm looking to find the best way to setup everything in my house. I'm really new to all of this, so any help is VERY appreciated!

Here are the components involved:

Television: Sony KDL-46Z4100 - 46" LCD, 120Hz Refresh Rate, Full 1080P.
Surround System: Sony DAV-HDX576WF - 5.1 Surround w/ iPod Dock
Blu-Ray Player: Sony Playstation 3
Video Game Console: Microsoft XBOX 360
HD-DVR: Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD
MP3 Player: 2nd Generation Apple iPod touch
Cable Provider: Time Warner Cable
Available Cables: 4 HDMI Cables, 1 Optical Audio Cable

I'm not sure the best way to set this up, but I'm looking for full 1080P and surround sound on all inputs if possible. I'm more than willing to purchase more cables or whatever, but hopefully I don't have to purchase anything beyond that.

If you need me to give any further info, just let me know. Thanks so much!

SethH

Senior HTF Member
Unfortunately, if you want surround sound on all inputs you would have to return your surround system and buy something else.

Your surround system only has two digital audio inputs and does not accept video inputs.

So, with your current equipment, your best bet is to run an HDMI cable from each source to your TV. You run into a problem here too, though. If you plan to use the upscaling DVD player in your surround system then you have 5 HDMI sources and only 4 HDMI inputs on your TV . . . so you would have to run one source from component (I would probably run the XBOX through component).