What's new

need some advice (1 Viewer)

uplateagain

Auditioning
Real Name
Daryl
Hello, newbie here. been reading the forums, and finding some very knowlegable people on here. So iam here asking for advice.
I currently have an older home surround sound setup in my basement. room size is 24'dX32"w. with 7" ceiling.
The system never really gave me the "sourround sound feel" though. no matter how i hooked the system up.
I know my speakers are cheap junk, and wondering if this is my downfall.
The list of my components are:
Technics-SA-DX1050 a/v reciever
Panasonic DVD-R32 dvd player
speakers are Fluance surround speakers. 1center,2 fronts,2 rears
Sub is Sony SA-WM40
TV is Pioneer -SD 532HD5

My question is, is it my speakers that are holding back the sound? When i watch a movie i need to turn the reciever 3/4's of the way up to get any half decent sound, and never really get a real surround sound feeling out of it. ( i have heard better cheap HTIB systems).
When i listen to the radio, or cd's I don't have to turn the volume up like i do when whatching a movie.
I have been thinking about upgrading, and wondering where to start as iam on a tight budget, and can't do all at once.
Should i start with the speakers, then go from there? Is my reciever of any quality anymore, or is it so outdated?
Same with the dvd player?
Thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide me with on this matter.
Thanks,
Daryl

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The first thing to do is get a calibration disc like Digital Video Essentials or Avia and a Radio Shack (analog!) sound pressure meter. These will run about $60 total, but as long as you have a home theater, you will need them.

Calibrate the audio (and video) using these items. This is the #1 annd cheapest improvement .

Then, if you want to spend more money, get a better sub. From that point, the sky is the limit on what you want to do.