Need Small Sub for Dorm room

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andrew Lin, Jul 8, 2002.

1. Andrew Lin

Andrew Lin Extra

Hey guys -
    So I've been looking around at the DIY subs that people have been making and I've been inspired to make one. However since I am still a student living in the dorms, it needs to be a rather small sub. I had seen a couple versions using the Adire Audio Shiva driver with a 1 cu.ft sealed enclosure, however none that include a plate amp.

I was wondering why that was, and would it be possible for me to extend the enclosure a bit farther keeping the volume the same just with a PE250W amp.

Also, with the subs that I've seen w/o a plate amp, they talk of a Linkwize (sp?) equalizer and a separate amp, what is it and why not just use a plate amp?

Sorry for the barage of questions.. Thanks for your time!!

BTW the AV1s are close to being done =)

2. Griff

Griff Stunt Coordinator

The linkwitz crossover attempts to flatten the peaks associated with a small cabinet, and sometimes incorporates a "bass boost".
    I think that you should go for a slightly larger cabinet, it will be simpler and produce better results without an active cross.
    Would you go for a ported or sealed subwoofer?
    Here is some apps for a sealed http://www.adireaudio.com/Files/Seal...plications.PDF
    And here are some ported ideas http://www.adireaudio.com/Files/Vent...plications.PDF
    I am assuming that you are a poor student like the rest of us so that rules out the passive radiator route.
    That plate amp is perfect, wire the voice coils in series to represent a 4 Ohm load.

3. Ryan Schnacke

Ryan Schnacke Supporting Actor

Most of the near 1 cu. ft. sealed designs I've seen use the parts express Dayton DVC 12 inch driver instead of the Shiva. Similar driver but with a smaller Vas and Qts so its better suited to the smaller boxes. I think the sealed Shiva boxes should be closer to 2 cu ft for best performance.

4. Brian Bunge