Need setup advice- Very little planning time!

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Brian Beecher, Feb 26, 2006.

1. Brian Beecher

Mar 11, 2003
    OK, this is a bit crazy, but here goes. I am a portrait photographer and am moving to a house where our studio and home are on the same property. The studio building is seperate from the house and there is a 17x11.5 room that I planned on using as my meeting room and room to project slideshows of clients images. Then I thought, if I am setting up this room with a projector and furnature, why not take it an extra step and also use it as a theater? Problem is that this has all happened very quickly and the renovations/construction on the outbuildings that will be the studio will most likely begin in about 3 weeks. For the past week I've been trying to plan out the best setup for the room. The room has a ceiling pitched from the side walls to the center and the entrance will be on the back wall right side. I am going to have a built in rack for my equipment and the projector mounted on the rear wall, so the rack and projector will be pretty close to each other. To save space, would rear surround in ceiling speakers work with an angled ceiling? I will need a hook up for my laptop running from the projector for the slideshows. I will have sepeate power run for the lighting and the rest of the equipment and will run speaker wires before the drywall is up.

Normally I would do a lot of research and a lot more planning, but I'm pretty crunched for time. I need to figure out what cables and what wires I'll need so I can get them in time to put them in before the walls go up. I think I'll keep my current living room setup in the house, so I'll probably get a new Yamaha reciever for the room. I'd also like to be able to hook up a video game system, possibly running the wires to the side wall or under the seating for the hook up. The projector I think I'll go with is the Panasonic ae900. The flooring will be laminate.