What's new

need serious help please.... (1 Viewer)

wojtekC

Auditioning
I am buying my father a brand new Home theater setup, but there is one problem.
I have no clue what to buy because i am new to this.

Friends said this would be the best place to ask so here i go...

my budget 1100$

i looked on some things and what do you guys think of this.

Yamaha RXV-1500 Receiver

and Sony Home Theater Speaker System (SA-VE367T) speakers

as i stated on top i have no clue whats good whats bad thank you friends.

Mark Russ

Second Unit
If it were me, in that price range, I would get a Pioneer 1015 receiver, SVS PB10 ISD sub, and that should leave you about $500 to get a 5 speaker package from JBL, Athena, etc.

That setup would KILL the Yamaha/Sony speaker set up you mentioned.

DanHal

Stunt Coordinator
Mark,

I believe your math is a little off. The receiver alone will cost at a bare minimum $400.00, and you might not get a warranty at that price. The SVS is $429.00 plus shipping. The math isn't adding up. Yes it would be better than the Sony setup, but it's over his budget!

Mark Russ

Second Unit
Yeah, I noticed that too just as soon as I hit the submit button.

Are there any halfway descent speaker packages for about $300 that should still trump the Sony set. I'm sure there has got to be.

DanHal

Stunt Coordinator
If you are willing, take a look a used equipment. There are many people out there who simply upgrade their speakers, receiver, etc., just because they have caught the "bug." The equipment can look and sound new but cost around half of what it did new. Now, you have to be careful with what you buy, and who you deal with. You could put together a very nice system at your price point. You can try eBay, Audiogon, and of course here! Good luck!

wojtekC

Auditioning
Pioneer 1015 receiver, SVS PB10 ISD sub, and that should leave you about $500 to get a 5 speaker package from JBL, Athena

this sounds good anyone know any great sites with good prices?