Need reciever advice + some general stuff

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Matej, Jul 1, 2002.

1. Matej

Matej Extra

I am new at this whole HT thing and desperatly need advice on a reciever. I am looking for a reciever that wont break the bank- sub $600 (college student, so not a big bank-less is better) I would like it to have 6.1 DD.

I will be using it to run 6 klipsch promedia v.2-400 satillites + sub -yes these are their computer line. THese are 4ohm so there is concern about that.

THey are THX certified so if the reviever is too that would be a nice bonus but not necessary. If there is nothing in that price range, then if you could just point me into the nearest direction I would appreciate it.

Also connecting the sub might be kinda tricky so any advice on that is also highly appreciated.

I will soon have two complete sets of of the promedia v.2-400's that means 8 satellites and 2 subs. I am using 2 sats+ sub for my computer and 6 sats plus other sub for my HT. now the problem is that the normal setup has me hooking up the sats to the amp in the sub and then the sub is hooked into one of the sats and from there the whole system hooks up to the computer using two lines. However I will be hooking six of the sats into the reciever and then I am still trying to figure out exactly how to get the sub into the system.

Thanks for all the help

2. Chris Tsutsui

Chris Tsutsui Screenwriter

The Klipsch Promedia subwoofer doesn't have a sub input and the drop off frequency of it may be around 45hz. I did testing with their 2.1 promedias and the quality is pretty good, but the sub can't hit very low.

The Klipsch promedias are THX multimedia certified which is quite different than the HT certifications. I see no point in buying a thx certified receiver and playing them through "computer" speakers.