Need Opinion: Tower Speakers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael_Winter, Sep 11, 2001.

1. Michael_Winter

Michael_Winter Auditioning

I am contemplating building my first DIY project, a front set of main tower speakers. This is my first project, but I am an experienced woodworker, albeit not an experienced speaker system builder. I am considering the EROS VSS on speakerbuiloder.net, the Thor by Seas from Zalytron, and lastly the Adire 281's. I really want a nice set of front speakers that will continue to satisfy for years. I listen to a lot of HT, but I'd like them to be musical as well. I already have a SVS 25-31PC sub and my current front mains are 3-way JBL LX44's. What is one of the better kits out there for less than $1,000 and would be a good match for my situation. Any opinions? Thanks.

2. Tom-K

Tom-K Stunt Coordinator

How firm is your $1,000 budget. If you can go a little over, I would recommend the Focal H/T fronts from Zalytron. The entire kit costs $1,200. I have bought these and built a ported cabinet vs. the transmission line. They sould unbelievable. Very detailed.

3. Rich Kraus

Rich Kraus Stunt Coordinator

build the 281's (and have money left over t'ward an amp upgrade. [​IMG] )
    im pleased with mine.
    ------------------
    'Till next time,
    Rich (the kite guy)
    My DIY audio page!
    Use your ashtray please, dont throw um on the street. thanks [​IMG]

4. Michael_Winter

Tom:
    Don't the Focal's cost $1099? I know you mentioned $1200? Was that S&H included. How are they for music?
    Thanks for the response on the 281's. A lot of people seem to be happy with them.
    I just want to do this once and not worry about having to upgrade.
    Thanks for the responses.

5. Tom-K

Tom-K Stunt Coordinator