What's new

Need new computer for DV editing (1 Viewer)

streeter

Screenwriter
Real Name
Michael
My family's current computer is about 4 years old and we're ready to buy a new one, plus I graduated from college and won't be able to use my University's video editing facilities anymore. Furthermore, my family's home videos are beginning to deteriorate, and we want to convert them to DVD. Anyone have any advice on what to get?

Here's some details:

-I have a Sony PD-150 prosumer mini-DV/DVCAM camcorder and have footage in both mini-DV and DVCAM that I need to edit and ultimately put on DVD.
-We have a lot of tapes from older camcorders (as far back as 20+ years ago) that we want to put on DVD. The camcorders still work.
-I know how to use both Adobe Premiere and AVID. I've never used Final Cut Pro but I wouldn't mind learning it. AVID Express Pro/DV would be ideal but they're a bit expensive.
-We also want to use this computer for our daily needs - Internet, Office, Photoshop, etc. None of us are gamers, though.
-Mac or PC? no preference there.

I read Seth--L's set-up in an earlier thread and it sounds interesting:

Any recommendations?

As for our budget - $2000-2500 range. Also, are there any websites with a lot of information on this that I should check out?

SethH

Senior HTF Member
Do you need a monitor or do you plan to use one you already have? Also, does that budget need to include money for the editing software?

I just went to Dell and built the following for $2158:

Deminsion 8300
P4 3.4 GHz
XP Pro
1024MB RAM
250GB SATA HD
16x dvd drive
8x dvd burner
19" LCD Monitor
128MB GeForce FX 5200
SoundBlaster Live 5.1

That's a great price for that much computer. This thing would more than handle your video editing needs. If you don't need a monitor that will take about $600 off the price.