What's new

Need Home Theater Audio Advice/Opinions... Newbie here! (1 Viewer)

Jamie Peters

Agent
Hello, I have recently been bitten by the home theater bug and need some help / opinions before I run out and buy something that I won’t be happy with…. I found this site and have been “lurking” for a couple of days reading and learning from other posts. I feel that I have specific enough questions now to post, so I signed up….. Here goes….

First of all, I am starting from scratch…. My end goal is to have a new home theater audio system and an HDTV ready widescreen rear projection. I feel that I know what TV I want (Hitachi 51” S500) but I am still uncertain of the audio portion. I will not be building a dedicated room but will be outfitting the system in my current family room. It is an L shaped room with a 7 ft to 10 ft vaulted ceiling. The main listening position is about 12 feet from the TV and the TV is approximately 18 feet from the “back” wall. The “L” portion of the room that the system will be in is approximately 14 ft wide. My goal is not to have the system that all Home Theater enthusiasts would kill for but to have a system that makes listening to DVD movies exciting. From reading on this site and from other literature, I am thinking that I want to put together a “Receiver Based” system where my Digital Cable as well as DVD player and VCR all go thru the receiver then to the TV/monitor. For my receiver/speaker portion of my HT system, I would like to spend around $1200 - $1500 or so. Sorry for the long winded entrance here, but I wanted to give as much info as possible so that the guru’s here might better help me.

I have listened to several systems at local retailers as well as the systems that my friends have and really like the Onkyo product line. That is where my questions start. I don’t know whether to buy an all in one HTS-760 system or buy a receiver and add speakers/sub. Any comments?