What's new

Need help with speaker placement and setup (1 Viewer)

Brian Bowles

Second Unit
Hi everyone this is my first post. I am really new to home theater. I just bought my reciever and speakers 3 days ago. I have a room that is 20' x 18' and has 12 foot ceilings. I have my Onkyo 595 on the center channel polk 245 and polk r-5's in front of me. I also have a velodyne 1-" sub in front of me. About 5 feet behind the couch is the rear speakers. They are polk r-25's. They are up on a book case about 8 feet high. Here are my questions. It does not sound bad but I think I should be able do a better job of filling up the room with sound. It just seems like it is not doing the job. Thank you so much for your time. Also is there a place with all this information for beginners like me. I look in the forum but there are so many post it is hard to weed through them and find information on this topic.

1. How far apart should the speakers in the font me from each other? Currently all three are pretty close. They are a foot or two apart because they are on the tv cabinent. Do you think I could do better? Also does it matter that they are higher than my head while I an seated?

2. The rear speakers are 8 feet high. Does that matter? I did not know if they should be angled down or pointed at each other.

3. Someone said I need to go to radio shack and get some type of meter or something? How important is this?

4. It seems like I should have more volume. I have to turn the 595 up to around 55-60 to get real good sound for movies. Is this unusual? What is the max?

Brian Mansure

Second Unit
Welcome to the HTF Brian.
One quick suggestion...
On almost any given topic, such as speaker placement, you can use the Search function built into this website to help get information and answer alot of your questions right off the bat.
As far as speaker placement goes... we discuss that here very often and I'm positive you can find posts that cover in detail about speaker positioning.