Need help with JVC DVD player in Progressive Mode

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by JoeyR, Nov 15, 2004.

  1. JoeyR

    JoeyR Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Joey
    I have a JVC XV-FA900 DvD player that my other tv finally burnt up and I purchased a JVC 27" flat screen player with all the hookups. I have my component video hooked up like both manuals tell you to, but when I switch the input on my tv to component and enable progressive scan I lose the picture-it goes blue like on another input that is not on with the dvd playing, if I cut progressive off, I can see the movie again. Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,056
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    Unless your new display isn't HDTV/EDTV it will not accept progressive scan input. What kind of TV is it? CRT? LCD?
     
  3. JoeyR

    JoeyR Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Joey
    Its a 27" CRT
     
  4. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as I know JVC doesn't make a 27" set capable of accepting or displaying 480p.

    Just because it has component inputs does not mean it will do progressive scan, plenty of 480i only sets have component inputs.

    You're getting the blue screen because the set isn't getting a signal it can use.
     
  5. ChuckSolo

    ChuckSolo Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll bet you switched to progressive scan on the player and now can't access the menu to get it back to non progressive mode? I did that on one of my bedroom systems by mistake. Usually a keystroke combination on the remote will disable progressive scan on the player. Check your manual, it usually tells you how to set it back to normal output.
     
  6. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,056
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug

    Like Steve said, chances are high that your set doesn't support progressive scan. Very few 27" CRT displays are HDTV capable. You'll have to use 480i output from your player.
     
  7. JoeyR

    JoeyR Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Joey
    Cool thanks for the replies
     
  8. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On a JVC if you press and hold down the "vfp" button on the remote, the machine should switch between progressive and interlaced output. Hold down the button and wait for the progressive scan indicator light on the player (usually a green or red light) to go out.

    Most JVC flatscreens have a 16/9 mode that squeezes the raster for anamorphic dvds, you need to set the player to 16/9 in the setup menu. This is not progressive scan but sure looks nice.
     

Share This Page