What's new

Need help with finding a good seperate for under $1500 (1 Viewer)

DarL

Agent
I need help finding a good preamp processor to go with my B&W 604 s3 Fronts, LCR600, 602 s3 rears, svs 20-39pc+ sub, and my Parasound 2205at amp. I am currently running my denon avr3803 with the pre-outs. I am new to seperates, and I your advice to which preamp processor would be a good combo with my setup? The setup is used strickly for hometheather so DTS, Dolby Digital, and current sound processing is important to me. My budget is around $1000-$1500; is there a pre/pro seperate for that price better than my current denon avr3803?

Thanks.

gregD

Second Unit
Since you're strictly movies -- and already have a good power amp -- I suggest sticking with the 3803... and throwing the money at some other upgrade (sub? disc player?).

There aren't that many choices for pre/pro's under $1500... there's Outlaw, but their 950 is overdue for an upgrade... there's Rotel, Adcom, Sherbourn, NAD -- all good, but you likely have to buy used to meet your price point... at best, I think any of these is a sideways move for a movies-only rig... your Denon is a good performer as it is.

If your primary goal is to have the latest processing technology for $1000-1500, go for a new receiver rather than a pre/pro... receivers roll out more frequently with up-to-date features... but audition thoroughly -- at home if possible... the differences may be less evident than you think.

DarL

Agent
Greg- I actually have a sub already that i forgot to mention - it's a svs 20-39pc+.

If I raise my budget to $2000, is there a lot more options out there for pre/pro seperates?

Yogi

Screenwriter
Is there a certain aspect of the 3803 that you find lacking in terms of processing capabilities? The 3803 looks like a very good prepro already (at least on paper), and I don' think PL2X is worth upgrating for because after all it is still a matrixed format.

JackS

Supporting Actor