1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help with finding a good seperate for under $1500

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by DarL, Jun 27, 2004.

1. DarL

DarL Agent

I need help finding a good preamp processor to go with my B&W 604 s3 Fronts, LCR600, 602 s3 rears, svs 20-39pc+ sub, and my Parasound 2205at amp. I am currently running my denon avr3803 with the pre-outs. I am new to seperates, and I your advice to which preamp processor would be a good combo with my setup? The setup is used strickly for hometheather so DTS, Dolby Digital, and current sound processing is important to me. My budget is around $1000-$1500; is there a pre/pro seperate for that price better than my current denon avr3803?

Thanks.

2. gregD

gregD Second Unit

Since you're strictly movies -- and already have a good power amp -- I suggest sticking with the 3803... and throwing the money at some other upgrade (sub? disc player?).

There aren't that many choices for pre/pro's under $1500... there's Outlaw, but their 950 is overdue for an upgrade... there's Rotel, Adcom, Sherbourn, NAD -- all good, but you likely have to buy used to meet your price point... at best, I think any of these is a sideways move for a movies-only rig... your Denon is a good performer as it is.

If your primary goal is to have the latest processing technology for $1000-1500, go for a new receiver rather than a pre/pro... receivers roll out more frequently with up-to-date features... but audition thoroughly -- at home if possible... the differences may be less evident than you think.

3. TimRP

TimRP Stunt Coordinator

You can find BK ref50s for $1500 if you look hard enough.

4. CurtisSC

CurtisSC Screenwriter

The Sherwood/Newcastle P-965 can be had well under $1500, and is an excellent unit.

5. DarL

DarL Agent

Greg- I actually have a sub already that i forgot to mention - it's a svs 20-39pc+.