Need help with composite VCR with HK receiver...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve Cross, Jul 30, 2002.

  1. Steve Cross

    Steve Cross Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I recently traded my Onkyo TX SR600 for an H/K AVR 225.

    I have my digital CATV, and PC (in and out), to receiver with S-Vid, then receiver to TV (jvc 27s33) also with S-Vid, and DVD to TV via component input.

    This leaves my composite only VCR unusable, because if I read the manuals correctly I can use only one connection or the other (S-Vid or composite) the other input is component only.

    Is there any way to work around this with adaptors or something?

    TYIA
    Steve
     
  2. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    I think what you may need is a composite to svideo convertor which you could hook via your TV's svideo (if you have any left) or to your one of your receiver's svideo inputs.
     
  3. ColinM

    ColinM Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, it reads that it (HK) will not convert the signal - meaning you need to run composite from the rec to the TV if you want the HK to switch it for you.
     
  4. Bob Bartlett

    Bob Bartlett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just get a composite to s-video convertor. Radio shack has them as well as parts express. I have the avr 210 and have s-video to the tv and everthing else hooked to the receiver with s-video cables or using the converter where needed. Works fine.
     
  5. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    If you have S-vid and composite on the TV, then you must also have composite. Why not just run the VCR directly to the TV (or everything for that matter, if you have enough connections)?
     
  6. Steve Cross

    Steve Cross Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks everyone, I'm ordering the converts now, if it don't work i'll try running everything composite, except dvd..

    that is also a good idea John, but, my tv has 3 inputs, 1 component, 1 composite/s-vid and of course RF.
    I'm probably lazy but I'd rather not have to switch between video and audio sources.

    thanks all again..

    cheers
     

Share This Page