What's new

Need help with a Mac PPC G4 upgrade (1 Viewer)

John Wilson

Supporting Actor
Hey fellow HTF'ers.

I am just getting my feet wet in the Mac world so I am a complete noob when working with these units, especially the G4 towers. Here is my scenario: I originally purchased a Digital Audio G4 with OS 10.2.6 but with no disks. It was fine for a while but I wanted something more so I got a hold of a retail DVD of Leopard 10.5.6 but never got around to installing it, mainly because the system only had a CD -R/W drive and jaguar doesn't support a DVD drive. Recently I bought a Power Mac G4 Quicksilver 2002 with Tiger 10.4.11 already installed.

What I would like to do is install the Leopard OS onto the Quicksilver system but I would also like to have the Tiger OS on the Digital Audio model. I have a DVD writer on the Quicksilver but Jaguar (10.2.8) doesn't support a DVD drive. Is there a straightforward way to do this? I don't have access to a Firewire drive. Can I clone the Quicksilver drive onto a new HDD and then install it in the Digital Audio system and then install the leopard OS onto the Quicksilver system? I don't know all of the finer points to do this but I have heard that its easier to move drives on similar hardware Mac systems than on a PC.

Is there some kind of guide I could follow to do this? I'm pretty good at following directions but I don't want to mess up either system by doing something stupid.

Michael_K_Sr

Screenwriter
Real Name
MichaelK
John, you need to post a flowchart to help everyone understand what you are trying to do.