What's new

Need help to impress boss! HD content on TV's (1 Viewer)

Ryan Leemhuis

Second Unit
I work at a new Sears essentials store in Michigan. We have lots of HD and ED TV's setup with Dish Network. On the TV's we have ESPN HD displayed. However, on every TV when I push "Info" or similar, it says the signal is in 480p. Correct me if I am wrong but shouldn't it at least be in 720p to be considered HD? What could be setup wrong? It would really impress my boss if I made the TV's look at lot better :) Thanks for all your help! I am an HD content noob although I know a good deal about HD and TV's just not to set it up :frowning:

(the receivers are I believe silver JVC HD receivers)

EDIT: It looks like this from what I can remember(its hidden in the back)

http://www.cybertheater.com/images/1...d_receiver.jpg

RAF

Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
I would suggest you don't use ESPN HD as your source material. They very often don't broadcast "true" HD and much of the time even when they do they still use a 4:3 format with gray bars on both sides. I've actually seen some stores change the aspect ratio of these broadcasts to get rid of the side bars (and then basketballs end up looking like footballs.)

While I realize that you probably want to show sports because that's usually a crowd pleaser, I would suggest you use Discovery HD (assuming that your store subscribes to it) for your demo material. Some great HD images and far more consistent in the HD area than ESPN. Also, does your Dish system get the 10 new VOOM channels? Lots of things to choose from there as demo material.

And to answer your question, you have to have the receiver set for 720p or 1080i if you want to get HD. This is accessed from the box's setup menu (at least on my Dish HD box). Are you sure that the feed to each set is via the component output (or similar) and not the S-Video or (shudder!) composite output? Lots of things might be set up wrong.

Good luck.

Allen Hirsch

Supporting Actor