1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Need help setting up a new dvd player...no sound

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chad Isaacs, Sep 29, 2001.

  1. Chad Isaacs

    Chad Isaacs Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually,my friend just got one.I cant get to him right now and he does not drive so..we just spent the last 2 hours on the phone tinkering with the thing.He is pretty slow so it takes him a wile to get things going.
    Here is the thing.he got the panasonic DVD-RV26 at walmart today.his tv just has left and video inputs.Now,he says there is a picture(boy did he rave about that) but no sound.
    I went through everything I could think of..Any ideas?he says all the connections are snug,the tv is turned up(he put it on a tv show and I could hear it) he had somthing else plugged into the audio input so we know that works.I had him check and make sure he did not accidently plug it into the digital coax output,good there.
    I went to the panny website and they have no info on this dvd player...
    ------------------
    My dvd collection
    http://www.dvdprofiler.com/mycollect...?alias=cisaacs
     
  2. Saurav

    Saurav Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've heard that sometimes DVD players default to the analog audio outputs, so you need to go into the DVD player's menu and enable the digital audio output.
     
  3. Chad Isaacs

    Chad Isaacs Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Anthony Stephan

    Anthony Stephan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A. He's just using mono?
    I would at least suggest a Y cord to get both the left and right audio inputs.
    B. No set up on the DVD player?
    Yes there is. There has to be. He just cant find it.
    He will have to find the set up menu by reading the manual.
    Then after setting it up so that the PCM is chosen and I do believe that it is set there as default, you also need to make sure that your DVD disc menu chooses English pro-logic, not Dolby Digital.
    One thing he can do is to hit the AUDIO button on the remote to scroll through the options.
     
  5. Chad Isaacs

    Chad Isaacs Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok,I have a Y adapter and I will give it to him tomorrow so he can get both channels.He read off all of the buttons on the remote and there was no setup listed.I am gonna call him in a bit and see what we can figure out but I will certainly tell him to go into the menu and switch the audio to 2 channel on the dvd.I think he got romeo must die so i dont know what that titles defaults to.
    ------------------
    My dvd collection
    http://www.dvdprofiler.com/mycollect...?alias=cisaacs
     
  6. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'd have the go go through the on-screeen display while there is no disc in the dvd player. that should help eliminate which menu options are "valid".
    he probably has to hit the menu button, then somehow go to a setup option. from there, maybe a "sub-menu" for audio? this is sort of how my sony is setup.
    ------------------
    You step in the stream,
    But the water has moved on.
    This page is not here.
     
  8. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    I would suggest that he reads the manual front to back and then read it again. Then try and figure the problem out. Of all of my friends and family that have had set-up problems like this, I have found that about 90% have not read the manual properly. They have just given it a quick scan for words that they recognize and then decide that they need help. RTFM I always say.
    On the other hand, Never, I mean Never try to give advice over the phone(unless that's what you do for a living). It will usually confuse the heck out of most people and in turn frustrate you. With the last person I helped with their DVD player problems, I spent about 2 hours on the phone trying to explain different things to him. I then went to his house and we had it straightened out in about 10 minutes. I then spent the next half an hour setting up his speakers and sub and explaining why he shouldn't have his surround speakers sitting on top of his mains [​IMG] Anyway, I'm rambling now, just makes sure he knows the manual inside and out before you try and help him. If he learns it, chances are he won't need your help at all.
    ------------------
    Rich
    "A) You can never go too far and B) If I'm going to get busted it is NOT going to be by a guy like DAT."
    My Website
     
  9. Chad Isaacs

    Chad Isaacs Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL,surrounds on top of mains,sound like my father in law [​IMG] I dont like him so much so I dont take the time to help him out.Actually he made a prymaid out of his speakers.His mains on top of the tv,center on top of that then his surrounds are right next to each other on top of the center...
    I will see the dvd player tomorrow...and like it was said..probably have it running in 10 minutes.
    ------------------
    My dvd collection
    http://www.dvdprofiler.com/mycollect...?alias=cisaacs
     

Share This Page