Need Help Selecting Low-end HT Speakers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark.Louis, Oct 10, 2002.

1. Mark.Louis

Mark.Louis Stunt Coordinator

Greetings to all from a new member.

I am just getting into the home theatre experience and am slowly working my way through the muck. I am looking for a budget HT speaker package. I have heard good things about JBL's SCS150 package, as well as the JBL NSP1 group. Does anyone know if there are any differences between the two?

I was planning to pair the NSP1's with a cheap subwoofer, probably the Sony SA-WM40.
    As you can tell, I can only spend upwards of $400 or so...my wife won't allow any more.

Listening to music vs. watching movies is probably a 50/50 split in the amount of time I spend on each. I am planning on getting the Yamaha HTR-5560 receiver, although similarly priced Denon, Sony, and H/K are still in the running. I current having a Panasonic RV-32, a 36" JVC TV, a CD player, and a game cube to hook up to the receiver.

Does anyone have an opinion about either of the JBL speaker packages? Additionally, are there any other speaker packages in the same price range that would do the trick? I tend to shy away from exotic names that aren't available at BB, CC, or Sears since I take advantage of the 12 months no interest financing offers.

By the way, I am not an audiophile, I won't be listening to these things at obscene levels (wife is always telling me to turn it down), and my ears sometimes really can't pick up on the "sonic" differences many people seem to hear.

Thanks in advance.

2. Pablo Abularach

Pablo Abularach Supporting Actor

I think the NSP1 doesnt have a match in his class, for $209 it can beat everything in its range, and paird with an SONY SA-WM 40 for $150, very good combination. I dont have anything against Yamaha, but I think DENON 1803 could be a better option.

Hope this helps,
    Pablo Abularach

3. Brett DiMichele

Brett DiMichele Producer

4. Ralph Bru