Need help rebuilding a HT system WITHOUT Bose

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JustinP, Nov 13, 2001.

1. JustinP

JustinP Stunt Coordinator

Hi everyone,
    I'm pretty new to the forum, only been a member for a few weeks now. I can honestly say that this is one of the greatest information exchanges I've ever seen!
    That said, here's my dilemma. About 3 years ago (when I was in high school) I got suckered into buying a Bose Acoustimass 6 system which I coupled with a Yamaha RXV595 DD receiver. I was always happy with the system, but after reading numerous posts on the forum, I realize that it's only because I've never heard anything better.
    Now I realize it's time to replace the system. I'm looking to rebuild the same 5.1 (maybe 6.1) setup I had before, but with obviously better equipment. I'm a college student currently, on a college budget, and so I'm willing to sacrifice immediacy for quality. I might even consider just getting fronts, sub, and receiver for now, and dealing with rear channels later.
    Everyone seems to have only good things to say about stuff from nOrh, PSB, Paradigm, Def Tech, Energy, SVS, and B&W, as well as numerous endorsements of Denon amps, but I'm wondering if you all could help me come up with some particular suggestions for a system I could save to build.
    Thanks in advance for any help!
    Justin

2. Ryan Schnacke

Ryan Schnacke Supporting Actor

First, is there any particular reason you want to replace the receiver? You said it was a Dolby Digital receiver, right? The only thing you would gain with a new one is DTS and possibly 6.1. Focusing on the speakers, at least for now, should give you better results.
    I'm a very happy owner of nOrh and SVS. Both of these manufacturers share the goals of quality and accurate music reproduction, low pricing by selling direct to the customer, and excellent customer service before and after the sale.