What's new

Need Help/Question on speeding ticket Plea bargain (1 Viewer)

StephenK

Stunt Coordinator
Hey all,

So, after 10+ years of spotless driving, I got a speeding ticket. I was cited for going 74 in a 50 on the Palisades Parkway in New Jersey. I'm a New York licensed driver. This would be a 4 point infraction.

So I contacted a few law firms that all said they could plea bargain this down to a zero point infraction, "unsafe driving".

I don't care about the fine, I'm concerned with the points and what they'll to me re: surcharges and insurance rates.

So my question is, is this a good move? Assume that I have neither the time nor energy to fight this. Also, I've heard the traffic court of the Palisades Pkwy is one of the worst in the country.

I'm basically looking to find out if having an "unsafe driving" on my record is better than having a speeding 24 over on my record.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Regards
Steve

Patrick_S

Senior HTF Member
Why don't you contact your insurance broker and ask this question?

He'll be able to explain to you how each would affect your insurance payments.

mylan

Screenwriter
Here in Georgia, I went to pay a fine for speeding, 62 in a 45 I think and the clerk told me that instead of paying I could appear in court, plead guilty, and pay the fine and the infraction would not appear on my record at all. This has been three years and there has not been any indication that my insurance has found out. What this tells me is that if you go through the extra effort to go to court you can avoid any insurance problems but what it also tells me is that speed fines are more about revenue than safety, of course, Y.M.M.V.

Adam Lenhardt

Senior HTF Member