Need help please, Year old Pioneer Elite VSX-37TX or Denon 3802

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Thang_N., Sep 27, 2002.

1. Thang_N.

Thang_N. Stunt Coordinator

Hi all,

I would appreciate any advice you could provide. I am pretty new to the home theater realm of Technology.

I recently purchased a Denon 3802 w/ 4 year warranty for alittle over 700 from an authorized dealer. But I was offered to buy a Pioneer ELITE VSX-37TX from someone who also purchased his Receiver from an authorized dealer, who would sell it to me for $700 as well.

Would it be a good idea to buy the Pioneer that is a year old and still under the 2 year warranty, or keep my Denon?
    I don't really know what the difference and what the features would really do for me too much. I see the Pionner is THX certified, but don't know really what that means.

:b

I plan to purchase the paradigm 60/CC/20 setup.

Also I know this might belong in the Speaker subwoofer thread but he is also selling the Earthquake Supernova subwoofer that is a year old for 675.

Please help me if you can,

Thanks

2. Chris Carswell

Chris Carswell Supporting Actor

The Pioneer IMO is a slightly better unit for HT. I currently have the 35tx but will be upgrading soon to the new 45tx. This new unit for Pioneer will CRAP ALL OVER THE 3802!!! Cost = $865.00 online. If that is a little steep go with the 43tx which is still better than the 3802. You can grab that one for $740.00 I have heard them both and they are amazing for the $$$. You won't be disappointed.
    You can sell your Denon for a good chunk of change now before the new 3803 comes out and then the up-grade to the 45tx will only cost you a few hundred.

3. Juan_R

Juan_R Supporting Actor

I would keep the 3802.

4. Chris Carswell

Chris Carswell Supporting Actor

Oh yah, I guess I should answer your original question :b