Need Help On New Christmas Gift

Discussion in 'Displays' started by carter, Jan 7, 2004.

1. carter

carter Auditioning

OK here's the deal. My wonderful wife surprised me with a Mits. 60111 4:3 set for Christmas. I am very pleased with the TV but I am a newbie and have only recently begun to learn of the newest technology coming out after finding this site. I am debating on whether I should try to return the set and go for a widescreen. I live in an area that will probably be well behind the times when it comes to HD. I mostly watch standard tv and occasional dvd's. However, with all that said, I don't want to be sitting in front of my tv in a few years and wish I had gone for the widescreen. Having read a little on here, I assume most will say yes get the widescreen, I just want to be sure and get as much info as I can. Thanks in advance.

2. TonyD

TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

Tony D.
  3. Scott L

Scott L Producer

Hi Carter and welcome to the HTF. The standard HTF greeting also serves as a warning, for your wallet! :wink: Enjoy your stay.

Widescreen sets are definitely more "future-proof" but I don't want to be one to tell you what your needs are. [​IMG] I hate to say it but if all you watch is 4:3 NTSC television a 4:3 set is the best solution. Keep in mind that people are different, and although I have my 4:3 set turned on for NTSC cable most of the time I'd kill for a widescreen when I pop in a DVD. I just enjoy the movie watching experience more than casual TV use.. but again everyone's different.

When you say "in a few years" that's a good sign. I'd imagine most people update their displays in 3-4 years anyway. Then you can go for that sub-$2k HD projector. [​IMG] But yea take Tony's advice and check out AVS for HD broadcasting in your area.

4. John S

John S Producer