Need help on how to setup Denon 3802 with Denon 2800 for component out?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Luciano Pires, Aug 9, 2001.

1. Luciano Pires

I’m still new to all this HT cool stuff. HTF has been extremely helpful so far.
    Last night I had a little more time to continue figuring out how to setup all the components.
    Of course I encountered a problem that intriguing to me and I need your help again.
    Everything seems to work except for the component output on my receiver.
    I connected component cables from the output of my DVD player to component (DVD) IN on the receiver. Then connected another set of component cables from output of the receiver to the input of the TV. Seems straight forward enough.
    The problem then is when I switch on the TV to component input I don’t get any signal.
    The receiver is switched to DVD, because I can hear the audio of what’s playing.
    What am I doing wrong?
    Is there a setting that I missed or need to turn on? Either on the received or DVD player?
    The blue light indicator on the DVD player is on. Does this mean it’s using the component output or just means the player is in progressive mode?
    Help… Help…
    Thanks,
    LP
    Equipment List
    65” Proscan HDTV
    Denon AVR3802 – Receiver
    Denon DVD2800 – DVD player
    Paradigm Monitor 7’s – Mains
    Paradigm Monitor CC370 – Center
    Paradigm ADP170’s – Surrounds
    Polk PSW300 – Sub – (Will eventually replace it with SVS, It’s on the wish list)
    ------------------

2. Jay Mitchosky

Jay Mitchosky Producer